Governors of St Mark’s Primary School

Governor’s welcome

Dear Parents, Carers, Staff and Friends,

As the Co-Chairs of Governors, we are proud to be part of a team of people that make up the Governing Body. Many of the Governors are parents of children who live close to the St Mark’s and members of our wider community. We are joined by other governors who bring expertise across a range of areas to enhance the skills of the governing body. What we all share is a pride in our school, the surrounding area and a commitment to our role in providing support and guidance to the school.

The overall purpose of the Governing Body is to help St Mark’s provide the best possible education for all the pupils to develop every child’s full potential.

About Our Governors
The Governors work closely with our Headteacher, Sophie Liardet, and the Senior Management Team to ensure that pupils enjoy a positive, high quality educational experience during their time at St Mark’s.

The responsibilities and functions of Governors, like education, go through continual change. In January 2017, the Department of Education published a new Governance Handbook, setting out core functions of Governors. They are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance
    of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management
    of staff; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making
    sure its money is well spent.

We will strive to meet these responsibilities, while working to maintain the strong sense of community that runs through St Mark’s.

The governing body currently comprises 13 Governors, including the Headteacher. An individual’s term of office is for four years, after which time they must seek re-appointment. Current governors are listed below.

The Role of Governors
Governors bring many skills and experiences to their role in supporting, promoting and protecting the interests of the school, its pupils and its staff. They are an important link between the school and its local community. Decisions taken by the Governors are based upon the advice of committees who deal with specific issues and then report back to the Full Governing Body with their recommendations.

All Governors sit on the Full Governing Body, as well as being active in one of two sub-committees:

  • Resources Committee – incorporating finance, site and personnel
  • Teaching & Learning Committee

Co – Chairs of Governors – David Bone and Sue Butcher
Clerk – Jennifer Connolly

Resources Committee Teaching & Learning Committee
Peter Hutchison – Chair Keryn Hall – Co Chair
Helen Sterritt- Vice Chair
David Bone Tom Marsden – Vice Chair
Sophie Liardet Sue Butcher
Catherine Henderson Sophie Liardet
Shona Macleod
Ned Mazhar

The Governing Body meet formally at least once per term; minutes of meetings are published on the school website. We are involved in all aspects of school life and regularly visit the school to observe the school and children at work.

As each Governor’s four year term of office comes to an end, we have a steady, rolling requirement to recruit new governors. It is a rewarding and interesting role, if not slightly daunting at times, providing prospective members with the opportunity to contribute to improving standards in our school. You will also be able to develop new skills and have opportunities for personal development. If you’re interested, please do get in touch.

You can contact us or any of the governors via the School Office. If you have any questions or would like to put yourself forward as a Governor, please do get in touch with us.

We look forward to meeting you.

Best wishes

David Bone and Sue Butcher
Co – Chairs of Governors
Email –

Meet your Governors

Community School Hanwell - St Mark's Primary School

David Bone

FGB and Co Chair of Governors and Resources Committee Member

Citizen Governor

Sue Butcher

FGB and Co Chair of Governors and Teaching & Learning Committee Member

Co-opted Governor

Catherine Henderson

FGB and Resources Committee Member

Co-opted Governor

Peter Hutchison

FGB and Chair of Resources Committee Member

Co-opted Governor

Sophie Liardet

FGB and Resources and Teaching & Learning Committee Member


Tom Marsden

FGB and Vice Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee member

Parent Governor

Ned Mazhar

Ned Mazhar

FGB and Teaching & Learning Committee member

Citizen Governor

Shona MacLeod

FGB and Teaching & Learning Committee Member

Staff Governor

Helen Sterritt

FGB and Resources Committee member

Parent Governor

Keryn Standring

FGB and Teaching & Learning Committee member

Co-opted Governor

Kate Jones

FGB and Teaching & Learning committee

Co-opted Governor

Jo Booth

FGB and Teaching & Learning committee

Associate Member

Ravi Mohindru

Associate member